Sunday, August 23, 2009

Dax Riggs - We Sing of Only Blood or Love

We Sing of Only Blood or Love
(erroneously titled We Sing Only of Blood or Love on the vinyl format) is the debut solo album released by American singer and songwriter Dax Riggs. It was slated to be the next Deadboy and the Elephantmen album before that band's dissolution. Riggs decided to release it under his own name, on August 21, 2007. Matt Sweeney provided a combination of guitar, bass, piano and backing vocals for all of the tracks, as well as producing the record.

We Sing of Only Blood or Love is dominate by dark neo-blues-rock songwriting structures, and also contains heavy metal, folk music, gothic rock, protopunk, and some experimental material. The album is a continuation of Riggs' musical evolution since fronting the Louisiana sludge metal band Acid Bath in the 1990s. Riggs uses a trained, rich vocal style most frequently sung in a blues-influenced baritone rasp. Riggs was 32-years-old at the time of the album's recording. His lyrics contain various stylistic elements of metaphor and imagery, and touch upon personal and poetic subjects such as death, love, Satan, nocturnal hallucinations, mortality, phantoms, and morbidity.

We Sing of Only Blood or Love - 2007

Track Listing:

1. Demon Tied to a Chair in My Brain
2. Didn't Know Yet What I'd Know When I Was Bleedin'
3. Night is the Notion
4. Radiation Blues
5. The Terrors of Nightlife
6. A Spinning Song
7. Truth in the Dark
8. Ouroboros
9. Living is Suicide
10. Forgot I Was Alive
11. Ghost Movement
12. Dog-Headed Whore
13. The Wall of Death
14. Scarlett of Heaven nor Hell
15. Dethbryte
16. Dream or Be Dead (Vinyl only)


Offical Site

Fan Site


1 comment:

  1. Fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck, fuck. Thanks man for putting this up. Fuck.


Love It? Hate It? Let us know!