Monday, April 12, 2010

NY Loose - Year Of The Rat (1996)

Genre: Glam Punk
Origin: New York, New York
File: 89 Mb (320kbps)

Brijitte West - vocals
Danny Nordahl - bass
Marc Diamond: Guitar
Peter Lloyd: Drums

1. Pretty Suicide 2:30
2. Rip Me Up 3:53
3. Broken 3:02
4. Apathy Is Golden 2:13
5. Dragonfly 2:56
6. Sunday Morning 3:15
7. Detonator 2:12
8. Song for Margo 3:38
9. Kiss My Wheels 2:43
10. Hide 3:42
11. Trash the Given Chance 2:56
12. Spit 5:53
Total Playing Time: 38:53

So if anyone even vaguely knows me they know that I love music from the gritty streets of New York City and this is a forgotten gem that I really feel is worth revisiting. It's a poppy little sleazy album that flows with great energy and overall is a sing-along good time. This was unfortunately the bands only proper full length release and I think "Pretty Suicide" was a minor hit and the song "Spit" was featured in the movie "The Crow: City of Angels". It also includes a very nice version of The Velvet Underground classic, "Sunday Morning". Check it out, for sure.

Year Of The Rat


  1. I got this guess it must have been '96 then! Played it non-stop, great album. Anyone know what happened to the members?

  2. i know that Brijitte West is in "Brijitte West and the Desperate Hopefuls" right now but I haven't had a chance to even listen to anything by them yet.

  3. There's a great interview with Brijitte talking about this album here

  4. hard to find, thanks for share. been looking everywhere

  5. I saw them as an opening act for Marilyn Manson in 96'. I instantly fell in love! After the concert I went to Virgin records in NY and bought their CD. They were kick ass. Too bad they aren't together anymore.


Love It? Hate It? Let us know!