Sunday, December 26, 2010

Hang the Bastard - Hellfire Reign (2010)

Genre: Doom/Sludge Metal
Origin: United Kingdom
Label: Holy Roar
Status: Active
File Size: 77 MB 320Kbps

Chris - Vocals
Sina - Guitar
Sam Hell - Guitar
Stu - Bass
Simon ''Jesus'' Grubb - Drums

1. Acid Bath Vampire 02:22
2. The Blackest Eyes 03:14
3. Levitation Lessons 03:43
4. Genesis 03:48
5. Earthmover 03:04
6. 06 Snakecharmer 03:54
7. 1888 03:32
8. Hells Teeth 03:34
9. Goodbye Piccadilly 02:33
10. Farewell Leicester Square 06:21
Total playing time 36:05

Here some fucking groovy sludge from the UK- cool fucking cover too.

Hellfire Reign

Friday, December 24, 2010

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Ancient Chinese Secret - Caveat Emptor (1999)

Genre - Hardcore/Experimental
Origin - San Francisco, Ca.
Time - 27.9 min
File - 53.88 MB (320 kbps)

What we have here is one of the most adventurous and exciting forays into the fringe of extreme hardcore in a long time (the fringe of the fringe you might say). A.C.S. consists of two long time mainstays in the power violence underground, namely Matt Martin (ex CAPITALIST CASUALTIES) and Chris Dodge (SPAZZ, Slap A Ham Records, etc) teamed up with trained female vocalist Lydia Dodge who admits to not even liking power violence. The result is an experimental hardcore album that captures the imagination, revels in eclecticism, and still manages to rock your pathetic world. With only bass guitar, drums, vocals, and various key and tape loop embellishments A.C.S. do things with their music that I guarantee you've never heard the likes of before. Their uniqueness is so much a part of their sound that even from track to track they are vastly diverse. Whether it is a song like "The Basics" that has the flavor and directness of early NOMEANSNO or "Sakura" which is as close to "normal" power violence as A.C.S. gets or even the organ interlude "The Overlook", ANCIENT CHINESE SECRET will keep you guessing. Anyone interested in hearing something different needs to check this out. Folks who gravitate towards bands that reject the norm (MITB, GASP, etc) will find their new gods in A.C.S. because in a lot ways this album bridges the gap between the familiar and the bizarre. It has enough roots and simplistic pummeling power to connect it to hardcore fans yet is left of center enough to appeal to fans of music that is way "out there". Hopefully people are smart enough make the connection because it would be a crime if this album got lost somewhere in the middle. (Jeb Branin/In Music We Trust)

Track List:
1. Waiting For Doctor Bombay
2. A Nice Day
3. Moral Of The Story
4. ??? (Japanese Titled)
5. Hyper Liar
6. Obnoxious Fumes
7. The Overlook
8. The Basics
9. Outburst
10. Flight Or Fight
11. Quiet For The Choirmaster
12. Needle's Eye
13. The Candle Burns
14. A Passage Of Time

I picked this up the day it hit the streets. This was release #50 in the Slap a Ham Records catalog. Give it a listen and leave some comments on what you think about it!

Moral Of The Story

Friday, December 10, 2010

Doppelganger - Skate Or Die (Seriously) Demo (2002)

Genre - Powerviolence/Hardcore Thrash
Origin - San Francisco, Ca.
Time - 10.9 min
File - 20.49 MB (320 kbps)

Track List:1. May Day 2002 Was Fun Until Lane Got Arrested
2. The Everlasting Look A Like Contest
3. Dust Collector
4. Driving Into A Wall
5. Hardcore As An Economic System

6. Glory Days
7. It's Time To Die You're X'd
8. Diabolical Indignation
9. When Push Comes To Shove
10. Word Of Warning
11. Hard To Swallow
12. Let's Get Drunk And Destroy The Government
13. Go Away
14. I Rode My Bike On The Hood Of Your Car
15. Player Hater
16. Lane Puked Up Taco Bell
17. Palm Reader Blah, Blah, Blah...

Here's a demo that my friend Lane gave me back in 2002, he was the bass player. Not long after this was recorded and a few compilation appearances they put out their debut ep on 625 Thrashcore and then called it quits. The singer Keith, went on to play guitar in the female fronted S.F hardcore band Punch, who are pretty badass! Check it out!

Word Of Warning!!!

Mucupurulent - Monsters Of Carnage

Genre: Goregrind/"Grind'N'Roll"
Origin: Germany

1. Candy Cat
2. Low Brain Blow Bunny
3. Dead
4. Sex Carnage
5. Breathing Red Dust
6. Spit Blood On Your Parents Grave
7. Muscle Car Man
8. Blinded
9. Damage Dealer
10. Infected
11. Helldriver / Glowduster
12. Gaylord Warrior
13. Scapegoat
14. Horny Little Honeypies
15. HC Bitch

A wee different from your standard goregrind, some call it grind'n'roll but that's kinda cheesy. (though I guess goregrind is by definition cheesy...) That being said, these Germans slow down the usual mile-a-minute grind pace a bit, and throw in some unusual chunkiness. Anyway, check it out!

Check em out!!!

Tuesday, December 7, 2010

Talk Is Poison - Straight To Hell (1998)

Genre - Hardcore Punk
Origin- Oakland, Ca.
Time - 14.8 min
File - 29.91 MB (320kbps)

Track List:1. Right To Die
2. Talk Is Poison
3. Forgotten
4. Declassified
5. Isolation
6. Data-Void
7. Condensed Humanity
8. They Call It Law
9. Ruins
10. Floor
11. Lost

This was the bands debut ep put out by Prank Records, which released all of the bands material, 2 ep's and a split ep with Memphis, Tn. Deathreat. Prank has since released all of the material mentioned above on one slab for your listening pleasure. Talk Is Poison had a brief existence in the late nineties playing their style of straight ahead bass heavy Hardcore. Check it out!

They Call It Law!

Monday, December 6, 2010

Vader - Live In Japan - 1999

1. Damien (intro)
2. Sothis
3. Distant Dream
4. Black To The Blind
5. Silent Empire
6. Blood Of Kingu
7. Carnal
8. Red Passage
9. Panzerstoss (intro)
10. Reborn In Flames
11. Fractal Light
12. From Beyond (intro)
13. Crucified Ones
14. Foetus God
15. Black Sabbath
16. Raining Blood
17. Omen (intro)
18. Dark Age

Well, it's Vader. And it's live. And it's in Japan. A winning combination! Except maybe the Japan part.