Monday, September 28, 2009

Ancient Wisdom - For Snow Covered the Northland (1996)

Origin: Sweden (Umeå, Västerbotten)
Genre: Atmospheric Black Metal
Formed In: 1993
Status: Active

Marcus E. Norman - Classic and electric lead guitar, vocals
Fredrik Jakobsson - Electric bass guitar
Andreas Nilsson - Electric rhythm guitar
Jens Rydén - Piano and keyboards
Ulf Andersson - Drums and percussion

1. A Hymn To The Northern Empire 03:05
2. In The Land Of The Crimson Moon 05:53
3. They Gather Where Snow Falls Forever 06:05
4. Through Rivers Of The Eternal Blackness 05:48
5. The Journey Of The Ancients 05:36
6. As Snow Covers the Northland 02:58
7. No Tears At His Funeral 05:22
8. Forest Of Summoned Spirits 04:29
9. A Ravens Reflection Of The Ancient Northland 08:22
10. The Serpent's Sleep Is Not Eternal 02:18
11. At The Other Side 04:36
12. The Sleep Within 05:11
Total playing time

This album is just amazing. It's laid back with great riffing and very dreamy atmospheres. The vocals are good, subdued and never a nuisance like some godawful black metal screeching. If you've never heard Ancient Wisdom before, you are in for a real treat.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Love It? Hate It? Let us know!