Thursday, December 10, 2009

The Meads of Asphodel - The Early Years (2009)

Genre: Medieval Experimental Black Metal/Folk
Lyrical Themes: Biblical Apocrypha, Spirituality, War, Dystopia
Origin: United Kingdom (Herts)
Formed: 1998
Stayus: Active

Track list:
1. Angelwhore 4:51
2. Book of Dreams 5:41
3. The Gleaming Red Serpent 5:53
4. Just Another Time to Kill 5:00
5. Pale Dread Hunger 5:41
6. Rise in Godless Hell 4:05
7. Give Me Fire (G.B.H. cover) 3:03
8. Neurodeliri (Bulldozer cover) 4:51
9. Bound Alive 3:35
10. Bleed for Me 3:43
11. Calling All Monsters 4:50
12. Paradise 4:14
13. Another God in Another Place 4:19
14. Ogs Last Stand 4:27
Total playing time

#1 & #2 taken from the 1998 demo "The Bemoaning Of Metatron".#3 & #4 taken from the 1999 demo "Metatron And The Red Gleaming Serpent".#5, #6 & #7 taken from the 1999 demo "The Watchers Of Catal Huyuk".#8 is an unreleased track from what was to be a split 7".#9 appeared on Godreah Records' "No Holy Additives Vol. 4" in 2000.#10 is previously unreleased.#11 was a bonus track for the first pressing of "The Excommunication Of Christ"(2001).#12, #13 & #14 are demo versions of tracks intended for the "Jihad" split CD(2002).

This is just a great compilation of all the early Meads material and it somehow is my favorite of theirs to listen to. You will understand once you give this a listen. It's all a fun, rocking good time.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Love It? Hate It? Let us know!