Friday, March 26, 2010

Sean Reefer and The Resin Valley Boys - Texas Hill Country (2003)

I would like to contribute a link to a album I uploaded for you to post on your teriffic blog, if you like it. Maybe you know of this cat maybe not, Sean Reefer & and the Resin Valley Boys outta Huston, Texas. Here's their outstanding 2003 debut (and only release)"Texas Hill Country". You pretty much know what you're gonna get with a name like that! Traditional country sound with songs about grow'n, smoke'n, drink'n and more smoke'n..ha! I hope you enjoy

Thanks T! I definitely enjoyed the hell outta this!

2003 - Texas Hill Country

Sean Raiford formed the Resin Valley Boys with the goal of bringing the sounds of classic country and western swing music back to a world that had forgotten how to two-step. Sean and the Boys quickly built a reputation as the swinginest band from Houston Texas, cementing that reputation with the release of their first full length album, "Texas Hill Country," in 2003. Their first nominations for Best C&W Act and Best New Act from the Houston Press Music Awards soon followed. Since then, Sean Reefer and the Resin Valley Boys have appeared onstage with such Texas legends as Asleep At The Wheel, Dale Watson, FlameTrick Subs, Alvis Wayne, and Wayne "The Train" Hancock, and national acts like David Allan Coe, Deke Dickerson, Scott H. Biram, Dave Alvin and the Guilty Men, Weary Boys, Big Sandy and his Flyrite Boys, Wanda Jackson, Joe Ely, Billy Joe Shaver, and Junior Brown.

    In 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009 Sean and the Boys received nominations for Best C&W Act from the Houston Press Music Awards, winning the prestigious title in '05 and '06 and '09. In 2007 the band won both the American Marijuana Music Award and Global Marijuana Music Award for best Country Song and in 2008 they won the Global Marijuana Music Award for best Country Song.

    Sean has been busy singing all over the great state of Texas ever since, winning new fans in every honky-tonk, dancehall, and lounge he and the Boys play in. Currently, they are in the studio recording material for a forthcoming, brand new full length release. Watch for them soon in your town. And bring your dancin' shoes; they'll wear 'em out for you soon enough.

Track Listing:

1.  The Other Side
2.  Bowl of Schwag
3.  Whiskey Bottle
4.  Texas Hill Country
5.  Diggin' In the Dirt
6.  Big Green Freight
7.  Swamp Booger Boogie
8.  When My Momma Told Me
9.  Do It All Wrong
10. Light It Don't Hide It
11. Reefer Blues
12. Green Yodel #1

This album was sent in by one of our regular visitors here, Mr. T.  I can't believe I never heard this album before actually, especially because 1. I love smoking the "Devil's Lettuce" and 2.  I love good old-time country music.  Definitely check this out if you like either no. 1 or 2.

(Thanks again to Mr. T!)


  1. hey track 9 is corrupted, do you think we could get a re-up

  2. The file is corrupted, it won"t unzip.


Love It? Hate It? Let us know!