Wednesday, May 12, 2010

The Soft Boys - Underwater Moonlight (Reissue 2001)

Genre: Post Punk, Neo-psychedelia
Origin: Cambridge, England
Years Active: 1976-1980, 1994, 2001-2003
Recorded: January–June 1980 Alaska Studio, London. June 1979 Spaceward Studios, Cambridge
File: 151 Mb (320kbps)

Robyn Hitchcock - Guitar, Vocals, Rhythm Bass on "Insanely Jealous"
Kimberley Rew - Guitar, Vocals, Bass & Synthesiser on "You'll Have To Go Sideways"
Matthew Seligman - Bass
Morris Windsor - Drums & Vocals
Gerry Hale - Violin on "Insanely Jealous" & "Underwater Moonlight"
Andy King - Sitar on "Positive Vibrations"

All songs by Robyn Hitchcock except as indicated.
1. I Wanna Destroy You 2:53
2. Kingdom of Love 4:11
3. Positive Vibrations 3:10
4. I Got the Hots 4:43
5. Insanely Jealous 4:15
6. Tonight 3:44
7. You'll Have to Go Sideways 2:57 (Hitchcock, Kimberley Rew)
8. Old Pervert 3:52 (Hitchcock, Rew, Matthew Seligman, Morris Windsor)
9. Queen of Eyes 2:01
10. Underwater Moonlight 4:17
11. Vegetable Man 2:59 (Syd Barrett)
12. Strange 2:59
13. Only the Stones Remain 2:50
14. Where Are the Prawns? 6:06
15. Dreams 4:37
16. Black Snake Diamond Rock 4:24
17. There's Nobody Like You 3:11
18. Song No. 4 3:57
Total Playing Time: 18 tracks (67:06)

The Soft Boys were an incredible and influential band from England led by Robyn Hitchcock who went on to a successful solo career and Kimberley Rew who went on to be a member of Katrina and the Waves. You'll love this album I guarantee it, the first 10 songs are the original release of "Underwater Moonlight" and the other eight songs are outtakes from the original recording session.

Underwater Moonlight


  1. more good stuff thanks ! glad you didn't include the second sucks!!

  2. ba ba ba ba I'm lovin' it!

    Thank you.

  3. good biz y'all

  4. Not sure why, but listening to The Horror's last album made me think, "I need to listen to Underwater Moonlight." Thanks

  5. Thanks a lot. This is classic stuff.


Love It? Hate It? Let us know!