Friday, May 28, 2010

Damn Laser Vampires - Gotham Beggars Syndicate (2008)

"If Quentin Tarantino were to make a film based on a Bram Stroker novel, Damn Laser Vampires US debut Gotham Beggars Syndicate would be the soundtrack.

Damn Laser Vampires is a post-punk trio that brings elements such as polka, psychobilly, and new wave into a strange ground filled with high energy performances, menacing vocals, and an otherworldly ability to mystify and entertain. Traditional punk receives a dose of Transylvanian attitude as Damn Laser Vampires yell, scream, and howl through songs of God, The Devil, sex, drugs, alcohol, and self-doubt.

Ronaldo Selistre wails, growls, and snarls through the 13 track punk-psychobilly mayhem that is Gotham Beggars Syndicate . Selistre s vocals simultaneously entice and petrify, leaving the question of whether the sounds of this groaning Brazilian are those of pain, pleasure, or murder. Selistre, along with Francis K, provide the guitar work for the album: a dual layered sound of dark undertones and punk-blues riffs. Backed by Michael Munhoz providing roots meets punk driven sounds on percussion, Selistre and Francis K. provide the guitar sounds of a punk rock cabaret of all things macabre: as if The Hives were cross-bred with Nick Cave.

Born in 2005 in the cold Porto Alegre city, south of Brazil, they made their debut with the independent EP The Devil Is a Preacher , which immediately caught the attention of alternative media and brought a new color to the local underground musical scene. In their first two years of life, the southern Vampires have printed a trademark on the Brazilian alternative universe. They ve traveled through the country, playing in bars, halls, and festivals including Goiania Noise ( Brazil s main indie festival); jumped to the pages of the Brazilian Rolling Stone magazine; and put four tracks in the soundtrack of the new Gustavo Spolidoro film Ainda Orangotangos ( Still Orangutans ) which recently completed its successful participation in international cinema festivals in the Netherlands and Canada .

April brings the United States debut of Damn Laser Vampires with Gotham Beggars Syndicate . Thirteen songs of hard hitting sounds that will make all take notice. Songs such as Saint of Killers and The Devil is a Preacher demonstrate storytelling not traditionally found in the punk sound. Graveyard Polka brings the sound of an accordion to a new demonic low. Alongside these tracks traditional new wave influenced punk shines at its best with songs such as Sprawl , M.I. , and Bracadabro .

Devil s Ruin Records release of Gotham Beggars Syndicate shall unleash on the United States all the fury and talent of Damn Laser Vampires" ~ Amazon

Tracklisting :

1. House of the Flying Bottles
2. Louvre
3. Bracadabro
4. The Devil is a Preacher
5. M.I.
6. Gotham Beggars Syndicate
7. I Wanna Be An Old Bitch
8. Graveyard Polka
9. Let’s Get Drunk Together
10. Saint of Killers
11. Next Time You Ride
12. Everybody Were Stoned
13. Sprawl

DLV - GBS : Awright.....


No comments:

Post a Comment

Love It? Hate It? Let us know!