Thursday, November 19, 2009

Dr. John - 1973 - In the Right Place

1973 - In the Right Place

 In the Right Place is a 1973 album by New Orleans R&B artist Dr. John. The album was originally released on Atco Records and became the biggest selling album of Dr. John's career.

Track Listing:

1  -  "Right Place Wrong Time"
2  -  "Same Old Same Old"
3  -  "Just the Same"
4  -  "Qualified"
5  -  "Traveling Mood"
6  -  "Peace Brother Peace"
7  -  "Life"
8  -  "Such a Night"
9  -  "Shoo Fly Marches On"
10 -  "I Been Hoodood"
11 -  "Cold Cold Cold" 

Album Credits:

    * The Meters:

    Leo Nocentelli - lead guitar
    Art Neville - organ
    George Porter, Jr. - bass
    Joseph Modeliste - drums

    * Allen Toussaint: Piano, electric piano, acoustic guitar, conga drums and tambourine, background vocals, vocal arrangements, arrangement and conducting.
    * Mac Rebennack: Vocals, piano on "Qualified", organ on "Peace Brother Peace" and percussion on "I Been Hoodood".
    * Ralph MacDonald: Percussion on "Shoo Fly Marches On", "Such a Night" and "I Been Hoodood".
    * David Spinozza: guitar solo on "Right Place Wrong Time".
    * Gary Brown: Electric and acoustic saxophones.
    * The Bonaroo Horn Section: Horns.
    * Robbie Montgomery and Jessie Smith: Backing vocals.

James Flournoy Holmes: Album design and paintings.

With Dr. John's 69th birthday coming up this Saturday I felt the urge to keep my Dr. John post streak going. 
This is another ESSENTIAL album right here.  Total Classic.  If you enjoyed all the other Dr. John albums that I posted, or even if you didn't GET THIS ONE NOW!!  This is another one that everyone in the Crescent City knows all about.  Mardi Gras vibes galore.  Don't miss this, trust me. 

1 comment:

  1. This is second only to Dr. John's Gumbo. or maybe, vice versa.


Love It? Hate It? Let us know!