Saturday, November 21, 2009

The Velvet Underground - The Velvet Underground (1969)

Genre: Rock n' Roll
Origin: New York City, New York
96 MB, 320kbps

Lou Reed – lead and rhythm guitar, piano, lead vocals
Sterling Morrison – rhythm and lead guitar, chorus vocals on "The Murder Mystery", backing vocals
Maureen Tucker – percussion, lead vocals on "After Hours", chorus vocals on "The Murder Mystery", backing vocals
Doug Yule – bass guitar, organ, lead vocals on "Candy Says", verse vocals on "The Murder Mystery", backing vocals
1. Candy Says – 4:04
2. What Goes On – 4:55
3. Some Kinda Love – 4:03
4. Pale Blue Eyes – 5:41
5. Jesus – 3:24
6. Beginning to See the Light – 4:41
7. I'm Set Free – 4:08
8. That's the Story of My Life – 1:59
9. The Murder Mystery – 8:55
10. After Hours – 2:07
This is the Velvet Underground's 3rd full-length and was recorded after the departure of John Cale so the album is a lot less wacked out and experimental then the first two albums (except for "The Murder Mystery" which is the most insane thing ever). What is left is a soft and intimate masterpiece of rock n' roll and folk music. This album also contains a couple of my favorite VU tunes; "Pale Blue Eyes" and "After Hours".

No comments:

Post a Comment

Love It? Hate It? Let us know!