Thursday, October 1, 2009

Dr. John - 1969 - Babylon

1969 - Babylon

Track Listing:

1. "Babylon" – 5:25
2. "Glowin'" – 5:39
3. "Black Widow Spider" – 5:01
4. "Barefoot Lady" – 3:10
5. "Twilight Zone" – 8:15
6. "The Patriotic Flag / Waiver" – 4:52
7. "The Lonesome Guitar Strangler" – 5:34

 This album is a little more upbeat than the previous "Gris Gris" , it's not as chilled or laid back but, Dr. John, in my mind, really started to show his true self and took things another mind-blowing step further here.  He's a little more comfortable here I would think, but at the same time, probably energetic and eager to record something new. Dr. John's beginnings are definitely raw, he must be taken like a drug.  Sit back with a clear head and let the good doctor take you on a crazy ride. You shouldn't be disappointed.  I also recommend listening to his albums in chronological order to see how much ground Dr. John covered/is covering throughout his career.  He's everywhere! R&B, Blues, Jazz, Funk, Rock, Zydeco, Creole, seriously, Dr. John kicks ass!    

Don't fear the Voodoo Curse!


Love It? Hate It? Let us know!